My Latest Obsession: The Panther-Print Bag

June 30, 2011 § 2 Comments

The inner child in me can’t get enough of animal prints. I’m not talking about leopard or zebra prints, but Animal Cracker prints – whole lions and tigers and bears on bags and dresses and t-shirts – oh my!

To wit, Marc by Marc Jacobs just released a line of bags with images of miniature panthers crawling all over them, and they’re adorable!

Marc by Marc Jacobs panther print messenger bag (via SSense)

Marc by Marc Jacobs panther print backpack (via SSense)

Marc by Marc Jacobs panther print duffle bag (via SSense)

Ok, ok – I’m aware that the backpack would make me look like I’m on my way to 4th grade, especially since the nylon fabric looks designed to protect the bag from spilt chocolate milk or a wayward applesauce. But I love how childlike and playful the look is (doesn’t the print remind you of the Jungle Book?). Besides, if I had my choice I’d take the messenger bag anyway. I like the canvas (you know, an adult fabric), the leather straps, and the way the bag folds over at the top. They’re nice details.

The panthers at Givenchy’s F/W 11 womens ready-to-wear show looked much more devilish than the ones at Marc by Marc Jacobs.

Panther print in Givenchy's F/W 11 women's rtw collection (via Style.com)

Panther print in Givenchy's F/W 11 women's rtw collection (via Style.com)

I think panthers might be having a moment, or will very soon. Be prepared to see versions of Marc by Marc Jacob’s bags and looks from Givenchy’s F/W 11 collection at H&M in the near future. If you can’t wait, though, you can at least get all the Marc bags on SSense.com right now. The messenger and duffle bags retail for $90 and the messenger bag for $280.

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to My Latest Obsession: The Panther-Print Bag

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Latest Obsession: The Panther-Print Bag at FASHION MOLE.

meta

